
JUSTICE COURT  

APPEALS 

 

If the amount in controversy, exclusive of costs, exceeds $250, a dissatisfied party may appeal 

the final judgment to the County Court at law.  A bond is required to perfect an appeal.  An 

appeal bond may be posted either by pledging cash or by having two (2) sureties sign a written 

“oath” where they pledge to be responsible by listing their non-exempt personal property which 

may be seized and sold to satisfy the bond amount.  These bond forms and oaths of sureties are 

available online or at the court upon request. 
 

SMALL CLAIMS & DEBT CLAIMS 
Texas Rules of Civil Procedure  

Part V. Rules of Practice in Justice Courts 

Rule 506.1 

 Bond must be filled within TWENTY-ONE (21) days after the judgment is signed. 

 A defendant must file a bond in an amount equal to twice the amount of the 

judgment.  The bond must be supported by a surety or sureties approved by the judge.  

The bond is payable to the appellee and must be conditioned on the appellant’s 

prosecution of its appeal to effect and payment of any judgment and all costs rendered 

against it on appeal. 

 A plaintiff must file a $ 500 bond.  The bond is payable to the appellee and must be 

conditioned on the appellant’s prosecution of its appeal to effect and payment of any 

judgment and all costs rendered against it on appeal. 

 

FILING FEES 
 
The fee to file an appeal with the Justice of the Peace is $10.00. 

The County Clerk requires that the fees in the County Court at Law be paid to the County Clerk 

within 20 days of appeal.  You must contact the County Clerk to determine how much these 

costs are. 

Sworn Statement of Inability to Pay 
SMALL CLAIMS & DEBT CLAIMS 

 

Texas Rules of Civil Procedure  

Part V. Rules of Practice in Justice Courts, Rule 506.1(d) 

 

Sworn Statement of Inability to Pay may be filed in lieu of required sureties.  The 

statement must meet the requirements of Rule 502.3(b). 

Statement must be filed within TWENTY-ONE (21) days after the judgment is signed, and may 

be contested within SEVEN (7) days after the opposing party receives notice that the statement 

was filed. 

 

 


